John Gray receives 2021 President’s Award

“In recognition of his extraordinary dedication in supporting and enhancing the mission of the Maine Forest Products Council. A board member since 2004, he became treasurer in 2010. He has been an excellent custodian of MFPC’s finances, providing solid information and sound counsel to support decision-making. Our members greatly appreciate his service”

The President’s Award is a recognition reserved to the president of the Maine Forest Products Council. Outgoing President Gordon Gamble chose to award it to John Gray, who has served the Council in many roles since 1976, including as the current treasure.

“John is so deserving of this award,” Gamble said after he presented the award Sept. 20, 2021. “He epitomizes what is so great about the Council, a membership of dedicated good people willing to do the hard work to see the forest industry succeed. His 45 yrs. (and counting!) of working in the trenches, whether it be providing reasoned testimony or serving on yet another TGTL study group, has been critically important to our industry.  As our treasurer over the past 10 years, he has helped guide us to strong financial footing and a mortgage free building.  I was so pleased to see John get the recognition he so richly deserves from the membership at the annual meeting.

John graduated from Boston University with a Bachelor of Arts in economics and put his skills to worked for at Chadbourne Tree Farms LLC for 33 1/2 years, retiring in 2009.  

He went to his first MFPC Board meeting around 1976 or 1977, when Joe Lupsha was executive director; Rand Stowell, president, and Richard Pierce, treasurer. He also worked with executive directors Bob Chaffee, Ted Johnston, Abby Holman and Patrick Strauch.

He has represented MFPC in the Legislature, at hearings and on a variety of legislative committee, including several studying the Tree Growth Tax Law, the Forest Fire Tax Study, Liquidation Harvesting and others.

He has served on the Board of Directors since about 2003 and the Executive Committee since about 2004. He has been MFPC treasurer since 2010.

Scroll to Top